Presentation reflections

To be honest, I didn’t really prepare much for this presentation. That was why I couldn’t even remember what my slides would show, and ended up having to keep turning my head back to the screen to check during my presentation. I agree that it must have been very distracting to the audiences. This is something that I will take note of in the future.

Besides, I lacked interactions with my audience in my presentation. I think that asking questions actually plays an important role in getting the audience involved with whatever you are presenting. By thinking about the questions, they will feel more connected with your topic and also remember the details better after the presentation. Hence, I will certainly try to improve on this aspect in my future presentations.

In sum, I feel that I should have spent more time preparing for this presentation to make it a better one. Nervousness is also something that I should try to overcome. I should also try to make my presentations more interesting, like adding elements such as the pictures that Calvin used in his presentation and the video that Maeve showed at the start of her presentation. What’s most important is to figure out what you want to let your audiences know and to make it crystal clear to the audience. It would be best if it could leave a deep impression as well. Nonetheless, I really enjoyed this experience and I have learnt a lot from the others’ presentations as well. I hope that I can do better in the future! πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Presentation reflections

  1. Hi Shuning!

    Awesome job on the presentation you did on Monday, 3 November! Here are some of my opinions:

    THE GOOD
    1. Your presentation is properly structured. The outline of your topic is clearly highlighted and the interventions were explained clearly.
    2. Presenting without cue cards is a very good skill! It builds confidence, and shows the audience your eagerness to want to present.
    3. You made good use of personal resources, such as relating back to your dad’s job of being a teacher, in order to provide context. I liked how I could see the significance of your topic when it was linked to your dad.

    THE BAD
    1. Sometimes the delivery may become too mundane, as it was informative. Perhaps add some cartoons/comic to make it more livelier?
    2. There was fair use of pictures initially, but more words appeared as you progressed through your presentation.
    3. Sometimes, your speech can become monotonous. Perhaps inject some animation into your presentation?

    Overall, I thought your presentation was not bad! Keep it up!

    Sean Blubberbored πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks Sean!!! These are really useful feedback! I’ll try to make my presentation more lively next time! Btw I liked how you started off your presentation, it was very different and made us put ourselves in a prisoner’s shoes immediately. I’ve really learnt a lot from you guys. Thanks! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Hi Shuning!

    I actually quite like your presentation! Just like what I have said in the class, quoting your dad’s and your own experiences is something different from the rest presenters.

    Your presentation has some concrete content and substance. You not only have the problem and proposed solutions but also the evaluation and limitation. (allocation of financial funds)

    Perhaps you can try to have more eye contact with the audience too!

    Your topic also teaches me more about the digital divide between senior teachers and the younger teachers in Malaysia!

    Thanks for your effort!

    Ying Hui

    Like

    • Hi Ying Hui, it’s so encouraging to know that you like my presentation! Thanks!!! Yes I will try to have more eye contact with the audience! Although this is really quite difficult πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the feedback! Really appreciate it πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Thanks so much, Shu Ning, for the detailed reflection and for the great effort with the presentation. Looks like you’ve gotten very useful feedback. I have no doubt that your next presentation will be very effective!

    Like

Leave a comment